VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

21 posts / 0 new
Last post
PDJ
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 16 Mar 2012 - 07:45
VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

Hi All,

This problem is only on MAC OS 32bit. MAC OS 64bit is OK. Windows is also OK.
On Cubase, There are two way to use a VST.
case 1.Use Insert Button On Left Side. Push Insert Button and select a VST.
case 2.Use Audio Tab on Top. [Audio] -> [Plugin] -> Select a VST.
When I select a VST on Cubase 6 by case 2, GUI is not controlled. case 1 is OK.
On MAC OS 32bit, must I do special something?

Thank you.

jules
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 1 min ago
Joined: 29 Apr 2013 - 18:37
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

I don't understand what you mean by "GUI is not controlled"?

PDJ
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 16 Mar 2012 - 07:45
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

Thank you for your reply.

Now I am developing and testing a VST plug-in myself.

When my plug-in is opened like the case 2 I wrote in the first post, it seems that my plug-in is not catching any mouse events, thus no buttons nor sliders on the plug-in's GUI can be operated by a mouse.

Only my plug-in cannot be operated, and all the other third party's plug-ins can be operated as usual even if I opened in the same manner.

PDJ
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 16 Mar 2012 - 07:45
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

Any idea?

jules
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 1 min ago
Joined: 29 Apr 2013 - 18:37
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

Does the juce demo plugin work?

PDJ
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 16 Mar 2012 - 07:45
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

No it does not.

The same problem happens.

Normally a key of the demo plug-in lights when the mouse cursor is on any keys of the keyboard, but when the plug-in is selected from [Audio] -> [Plugin] menu, the key lights when the mouse cursor is outside the plug-in's window.

It seems that the mouse position is interpreted incorrectly, thus the plug-in cannot catch proper mouse events.

jules
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 1 min ago
Joined: 29 Apr 2013 - 18:37
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

Before I spend any time investigating, you're using the latest 2.0 version of juce, right?

PDJ
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 16 Mar 2012 - 07:45
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

No, I am using the version 1.53.

Where can I get the 2.0?

Salvator
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 3 days ago
Joined: 18 May 2009 - 21:01
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

Thru git :
http://juce.git.sourceforge.net/git/gitweb.cgi?p=juce/juce;a=summary

VST works normally for me in Cubase 6 LE AI element /OSX Lion

Salvator

PDJ
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 16 Mar 2012 - 07:45
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

I download it and tried that version, but the problem still happens.

The same thing happens even when I tried the juce demo plug-in.

This problem happens only when the Cubase is running in 32 bit mode on Mac OS and the plug-in is selected through Audio -> Plugin menu.

Could you please tell me your environment?

Salvator
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 3 days ago
Joined: 18 May 2009 - 21:01
Re: VST GUI is not controlled on Cubase 6

Hi,

Cubase 6 LE AI element /OSX Lion 32 bits.
But I do not have such Audio/plugin menu here. Maybe because I'm using an 'LE' version...

Inserting the VST thru the insert list woks.
Sometimes though (not always nor even often), when opening session that has plugins UI opened already, the UI is totally black.
Closing/reopening the UI fix it.

Salvator

Pages